My Personal Mania for Trackmania

Over the weekend I was feeling the need for a new video game, specifically for the PC.  It was that persistent, nagging feeling of a chasm opening deep inside my soul whose void could only be filled with interactive entertainment via a keyboard.

After having recently read about Trackmania on one of my favorite gaming sites, Shacknews, I decided to give it a shot.  Its a series of racing games that center around online competition and track design.  This reminded me of the old Stunts game by Broderbund that I used to play in DOS back in the early-to-mid ’90’s. 

Two titles in the series, Trackmania Nations and Trackmania Nations Forever, are completely free to download and play by anyone anywhere any time.  The system requirements are minimal and the game runs beautifully on my 1.5 year old PC at home. 

Download this game and give a spin if you have the time.  It is truly enjoyable and addicting.  I find myself replaying levels I’ve already completed 4 or 5 more times before moving on to the next, simply because it is that much fun.  This is something I haven’t be able to say about a game since possibly Super Mario Bros. 3, and I can’t think of many greater compliments than that.

Leave a Reply

