My Trip to Microsoft: Day 3

So far I’ve mostly talked about my general experiences here at MS, but today got a bit more involved technically for me and so will my post.

This morning we got to meet with the developers of the Sync Framework (aka Sync Services for ADO.NET, aaka Local Database Cache).  We got to discuss with them the direction they see the framework moving, specifically mentioning that the wizard in Visual Studio 2008 for Local Database Caching was originally built as a starter-point to Sync Services for ADO.NET, but they expect it to expand its functionality to incorporate more of the core features of the framework.  They also spoke to our questions regarding Sync Agent vs Sync Orchestrator, two objects that seemingly did the same thing.  The answer was that Sync Agent is targeted a hub-and-spoke (client-server) architectures whereas Orchestrator is focuses on peer-to-peer setups. 

We also got to have a similar conversation with the team involved in Cluster management and its user interface.  Hopefully some of our suggestions for a more consolidated view of a cluster in the new system will come to fruition.

At lunch we got into a lengthy discussion regarding the complexity of job titles of Microsoft employees.  Product Managers, Program Managers, Project Leads, Managing Directors, etc.  It was very circuitous and I’m not sure that I know any more now than I did before, except that the org chart for Microsoft looks different based on whether you are looking at it for who-reports-to-who, pay grades, or actually project management.  Very interesting.

That conversation stemmed somehow from a completely esoteric conversation (my favorite kind) about the biodegradable utencils I mentioned in yesterday’s blog.  We started discussing the potential for biodegradable computer components.  I imagined throwing old dead PC parts into the flower bed after they’ve stopped working.  Then I thought about how fun it would be to describe the amount of fertilizer I used in terms of gigabytes, megahertz, and USB version.

I was able to snap some pictures today, but I haven’t had a chance to get them on the laptop yet so those should come soon.  Come to think of it, I haven’t had time to do a whole lot here since we’ve been in the lab from 9:00 A.M. till close to midnight for the last two days… and probably tonight too.  Is it sad that I spent my break still at my computer typing this?

Leave a Reply

