VNC Problem Going from Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex to 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

This week I have upgraded one of my Ubuntu boxes from 8.10 to 9.04 and thanks to a glitchy hard drive, its been the bumpiest ride I’ve had with Ubuntu thus far.  Having worked out the kinks in the hard drive, I’m still left with a bit of bugginess that I have not been accustomed to in Ubuntu.

Apparently, even though 9.04 was released nearly 4 months ago, this old bug has returned and has not been resolved yet in the repos.  VNC just simply does not refresh any connected client if the server uses the restricted Nvidia drivers and uses Compiz for enhanced visual effects, which I can’t imagine is an uncommon scenario.

Aside from that, I’m loving the new version.  I just got Gnome-Do set up with the Docky theme and I’m loving it, despite the fact that I come from a Windows background rather than Mac.

If I can just get around this VNC issue, or find an equally user friendly alternative, I’ll feel that this is the best Ubuntu yet.  If anyone has suggestions, please let me know!

One Response to “VNC Problem Going from Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex to 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope”

  1. eddy76 Says:

    I have the same problem, but I believed it was a problem of server configuration, thanks for the explanation, I hope to solve this problem soon


Leave a Reply

